The Liturgy of the Hours

"Rising very early before dawn, he left and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed."Mark 1:35

I Hold the Sun

The Liturgy of the Hours (also known as the Divine Office) is a long standing tradition of the Church.  There are five basic times for prayer in the cycle of the day.  They are Morning Prayer, Daytime Prayer, Evening Prayer, Night Prayer, and the Office of Readings.  The Office of Readings can be done at different times throughout the day.  Some groups, such as many monasteries split Daytime Prayer into three cycles, mid-morning, mid-day, and mid-afternoon.  The idea of the cycles is to consecrate the hours of the day to the Lord.  The tradition dates back to Jewish practices.  All the cycles follow a basic pattern of saying three psalms (Night Prayer only uses one), a reading, and a responsory.  For Morning Prayer there is also the Canticle of Zechariah and intercessory prayers.  Evening Prayer includes the Magnificant and intercessory prayer.  The Office of Readings include one extended reading from Scripture and a second extended writing taken from the documents of the Church.

All priests, deacons, and religious are to pray the Liturgy of the Hours on a regular basis.  The laity are encouraged to pray the Liturgy of the Hours. To pray the Liturgy of the Hours check out IBreviary.

Other forms of liturgy and prayer include:

Here are some video presentations by Fr. Jeff on prayer: